

Minutes of the 2015 General Assembly of the Association Internationale pour l'Histoire du Verre (AIHV): September 11, 2015.

President Sylvia Fünfschilling called the meeting to order at 16:30 in the auditorium of the Fribourg University Miséricorde, Hall d'honneur. 101 members were present when the meeting began. Dr. Fünfschilling conducted the meeting in both English and French.

The President thanked by name all members of the Organizing Committee: Anne de Pury-Gysel, Erwin Baumgartner, Sylvia Fünfschilling, Stefan Trümpler, and Sophie Wolf. Then, she welcomed the new members of the period from 2012 until 2015 collectively. To strengthen the links between the AIHV members, the Association had established an information letter for books and exhibits. The president asked for the help of the National Committees in providing the local news that could be included to the newsletter.

The president proposed to continue paying the membership fees for a three-year long period, covering the entire period to the next conference. The proposal was accepted by the General Assembly.

The need for a newly designed web page was stated and it was accepted by the body to let the president start the collaboration with the IT technicians from Augst for its production. The president also reported on the eleven bursaries for the participation in the Conference, which this time were offered by other local institutions and not by AIHV. The local institutions, which donated money for the congress were the Swiss Academy for Humanities and Social Sciences, the Swiss Association of Classical Archaeology and the Arbeitsgemeinschaft für die Römische Schweiz.

The Minutes of the 2009 Assembly were read and approved by voice vote [101 for, 0 against].

The president represented the deaths of the following members: Susan Brain, David and Dunja-Zobel Klein as well as Maurice Picon. Mr Stephen Koob spoke some warm words in memory of the unique person David Whitehouse.

Irena Lazar was invited to present the new volume of the AIHV Annales:

She informed the Assembly that 70 papers were included in this volume. It was published in 350 copies in Koper, Slovenia and the price is 47 euros. It has been shipped to all members before the conference.

Then, Prof. Lazar thanked by name all the members of the editorial board of the Annales 19: (A. Antonaras, Z. Buljevič, A. de Pury-Gysel, S. Fünfschilling, D. Ignatiadou, C. M. Jackson, T. Medici, and L. Mandruzzato).

At that point Mrs. Marie Garnier, Conseilleur d'état de Fribourg, arrived and saluted the conference.

The Treasurer, Mr. Huib Tijssens, reported on the finances of the AIHV.

- The one member of the Audit Committee, Prof. I. Freestone has examined the statements of incomes and expenditures 2012, 2013 and 2014 as well as the balances 2012, 2013 and 2014. He concluded that they represent a true and accurate record of the financial transactions and situation of the Association.
- The Association had a capital of 35.212 euro in 2012, 46.212 euro in 2013 and 47.402 euro in 2014. The treasurer estimates that the results for 2015 will be sufficient to finance the editing, printing and free distribution to members of the next Annales.

The General Assembly approved the accounts and thanked the treasurer and the Audit Committee for their work.

The treasurer proposed to keep the member fees for 2016 - 2018 at the same level as they were for 2013 - 2015 [90 euro for individuals and 150 euro for institutions] It was approved unanimously by the body. Members will receive an e-mail request for the payment of dues in April 2016.

The president continued the works with the issue of the place of the next conference. An official invitation from the Association's member professor Üzlifat Özgümüs was presented, asking to organize the 21st AIHV Conference in Istanbul, Turkey. Her proposal was approved by acclamation. No objections were recorded.

Election of the Members of the Board and the Executive Committee:

The president called for a vote on the board members. The present Board members were unanimously reelected except of Irena Lazar who stepped down. Üzlifat Özgümüs was elected as new vice president. The current Board comprise:

Sylvia Fünfschilling, president; Üzlifat Canav Özgümüş, vice-president; Huib Tijssens, Treasurer; Anastassios Antonaras, general secretary; Karol B. Wight, member; Maria Grazia Diani, member.

The president also called for a vote on the members of the Executive Committee: F. Marii and E. M. Stern stepped down from the Executive Committee and Irena Lazar and Martin Grünewald were elected on the vacant seats. The current members are: E. Baumgartner, C. Jackson, M.-Do. Nenna, L. Pilosi, Y. Shindo Takahashi, I. Lazar and M. Grünewald. Then, Mrs. Ines Pactat informed the Assembly on the news of the AFAV. Martin Grünewald thanked for being elected and informed the body about the Villa Borg project which was to take place on October 17-19.

The president bid farewell to the participants.

Meeting was adjourned at 19:00.

Respectfully submitted, Anastassios Ch. Antonaras General Secretary, AIHV