Minutes of the 2018 General Assembly of AIHV, September 9th, 2018

President Sylvia Fünfschilling called the meeting to order at 17:30 in the auditorium of the Kultur ve Kongresi Building of the Istanbul University. 60 members were present when the meeting began. Dr. Fünfschilling conducted the meeting in English.

The President thanked by name all members of the Organizing Committee: Dr. Üzlifat Özgümuş, Dr. Erdogan Köse, Dr. Orhan Sevindik and Dr. Ömür Dünya Çakmakli.

Then, she welcomed the new members of the period from 2015 until 2018 collectively.

Then, she reported on the Fribourg Annales: the 20e Annales are very voluminous and therefore did cost somewhat more than former Annales. All figures are printed in colour. The layout has been done by Vitromusée Romont and Michi Vock and the printing in Germany. The volume can be ordered at the publishing house.

Then, she thanked by name all the members of the editorial board of the Annales 20: Sophie Wolf, Anne de Pury-Gysel as well as Erwin Baumgartner, Marion Gartenmeister, Stefan Trümpler and the President.

The Minutes of the 2015 Assembly were read and approved by voice vote (60 for, 0 against). The President announced the deaths of the following members: Maud Spaer, whose obituary was read by Ruth Jackson-Tal; Clasina Isings, whose obituary was delivered by Marianne Stern; and Ludwig Berger about whom talked the President.

The newly designed web page was presented and it was well received by the body. The Treasurer, Mr Huib Tijssens, reported on the finances of the AIHV.

- The one member of the Audit Committee, Prof. I. Freestone has examined the statements of incomes and expenditures 2015, 2016 and 2017 as well as the Balances for the same years. He concluded that they represent a true and accurate record of the financial transactions and situation of the Association.
- The Association had a capital of 45.642 euro in 2015, 51.633 euro in 2016 and 34.685 euro in 2017. The treasurer estimates that the results for 2018 will be sufficient to finance the editing, printing and free distribution to members of the next Annales.

The General Assembly approved the accounts and thanked the treasurer and the Audit Committee for their work.

The treasurer proposed to keep the member fees for 2019 - 2021 at the same level as they were for 2016 - 2019 (90 euro for individuals and 150 euro for institutions). It was approved unanimously by the body. Members will receive an e-mail request for the payment of dues in the first quarter of 2019. In order to make intercontinental payments easier and more secure an e-Commerce gateway module will be installed on www.aihv.org.

Ian Freestone asked the Board to examine if the introduction if an option of annual payment of the membership fees is feasible. The proposal was supported by a majority of members present.

The location of the next AIHV Conference was discussed then. There was a proposal made by our member Teresa Medici and Professor Marcia Vilarigues from the New University of Lisbon, to undertake the 22nd Conference.

Their proposal was approved by acclamation. No objections were recorded.

The Russian delegation proposed to organize a next congress in Moscow, the President mentioned that there was already a proposal from Israel to organize the next conference in Jerusalem. The topic will be decided by the next assembly in Lisbon.

Election of the Members of the Board and the Executive Committee

The president called for a vote on the board members. She announced her decision to step down from the presidency and she proposed Anastassios Antonaras as candidate for the next presidency, and Maria Grazia Diani for the position of the General Secretary. The vice-president Uzlifat Canav-Özgümüs stepped down and remained member of the Board. Marcia Vilarigues was nominated for vice president. The rest of the board members decided that they will continue to serve the Association. This was unanimously approved by the members.

The president also called for a vote on the members of the Executive Committee: I. Baumgartner, C. Jackson, M.-Do. Nenna, S. Fünfschilling, Y. Shindo, I. Lazar and M. Grünewald. Lisa Pilosi stepped down. (And with much sadness we learned that Yoko Shindo lost her life some days later after a tragic traffic accident).

Karol White, President of CMOG, announced the "David Whitehouse" bursary for a short period residence in Corning, and that all members have access to it.

Ian Freestone, proposed that we need to have a Facebook page and an Instagram account, which would be updated by a group of members and not a single person. Sally Cottam, Ian Freestone, Margaret O'Hea, Jorge de Juan Ares and Janet Duncan-Jones volunteered to undertake this task and the assembly approved unanimously.

The president bid farewell to the participants. Meeting was adjourned at 19:37.

Respectfully submitted, Anastassios Ch. Antonaras General Secretary, AIHV